Duke Vs. Carolina: A Case Study in Your EOG Basketball Philosophy

College basketball fans were treated to another classic Duke-North Carolina rivalry game where Duke found a way to “hang around” despite being suffering a 1st half injury and playing with a limited bench.

The end of the game saw UNC with the ball, down one and timeouts remaining. Tar Heels Head Coach Roy Williams elected to not call a timeout and try to catch the defense off guard. That strategy obviously did not work and Duke pulled off the shocker.

Coach Williams stated after the game, “I think you should always attack before the defense gets set. I’ve always believed that, always taught that, and the way I’ve always played. I told the kids I should’ve called time out…If we had to do it all over again tomorrow night I’ll probably do the same thing cause I think that’s the best way to play.”

It is because of this reason, that fact that Coach Williams has played this way throughout his Hall of Fame career, that I do not have a problem with how the EOG (end of game) situation was decided. Although I do not personally agree with it, I do not take issue with this decision because if not calling a timeout and attacking is what Coach Williams does (AND has done) at practice then the team was prepared for that situation, merely the execution was just not up to standards.

If however, UNC normally did call timeouts to set up certain actions, then I would wholeheartedly disagree with Williams decision.

Personally, I feel like Coach Williams should have stuck with his initial instinct to attack without calling a timeout, but once it was evident that a quality shot was not going to be obtained, Williams could have had a player signal a timeout to then set a play up to get to the rim and/or draw a foul.

Follow Bert DeSalvo on Twitter @CoachDeSalvo

Leave a Reply

